You know that feeling you get when you have a lot on your mind, but you're afraid to open your mouth because the contents will spill forth like a fire hydrant that's just been run over by a Chevy pickup?

That's how I feel tonight.

Today was Marinka's last day at the office. She gave her notice a few days ago, and today they said screw the two weeks notice and asked her to leave a few days ahead of schedule.

I think it's entirely possible that it will be more difficult to walk past Marinka's empty cubicle than it was to walk past B's empty office after they fired her.

Work won't be the same without her.

No more dirty looks from management as we chat at her cubicle first thing in the morning.

No more endless strings of instant messages on Yahoo.

My phone won't be ringing every three minutes because she thought something was funny.

I won't be bringing her Starbucks after I know she's had a long night.

She won't be dropping off flowers on my desk at random.

Who's going to fix my necklace for me when it gets turned around as it inevitably does?

Whose shoulder will I cry on when I have my period and someone looks at me cross eyed?

We won't be kicking back with Unsolved Mysteries on our lunch break.

She won't be around to convince me that we need ice cream after lunch.

Now I'll have to dial eleven whole numbers on the phone to reach her instead of just three. (She pointed out that I could program a speed dial button, but that's just too logical. My way sounds much more dramatic.)

We're not going to be able to dash out the door at 4:30 to get a Starbucks fix before she has to get home to Monkey.

Etcetera. Ad nauseum.

I've been spoiled working with my best friend. I really have. Not having her at the other end of the hallway is going to be as bad as someone taking away my laptop... or worse, my coffee.

I hope she knows how much I'm going to miss her... even though I'm happy as hell that she managed to escape from the hell that was her department.

DevilGrl will be leaving in a few weeks as well, leaving me to eat lunch alone for the first time in ages. I'm not looking forward to it.

I'm not looking forward to it one single bit.

And I know I'm being a drama queen, but it all feels so intense right now.

Marinka, love, I wish you the best of everything in your new job. I know it's not that far, but right now it feels like you might as well be going to work on the moon. Would it be incredibly corny to say that it's going to break my heart to see your desk empty tomorrow? And it will probably break just a bit more when I see some other psychotic face sitting in your chair.

Whose desk will I sit rudely atop now?

Sigh...
April 14, 2005 10:43 p.m.

GettingNaked has moved! The new site can be found at gettingnaked.typepad.com. If your browser supports it, you'll be redirected there momentarily!

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2 comments so far